Craft Camp Capers

A fine WordPress.com site

Super Basic Scarf

scarf and yarn

My talented knitting friend, Courtney, taught me the basic knit stitch and set me up with some beautiful Noro yarn to make a scarf with. I attempted to teach myself knitting once before but got too fancy and messed my project up. And by fancy I mean, added a purl stitch without supervision… But this time I got very clear and simple directions and it’s turning out nicely. If I want to be able to use this scarf before Portland’s short winter is over I will need to hurry though. I’m only about halfway there!

garter stitch Noro yarn tag

3 comments on “Super Basic Scarf

  1. sparkleturkey
    February 13, 2013

    I love that Noro yarn! I think I made a headwarmer out of it once…and hey, good on ya for knitting. I try it every couple of years but I am the worlds slowest knitter and somehow I end up with one stick in my armpit and the other elbow at a right angle near my ear. I don’t know if I can be trusted with more than my crochet hook…

    • dianastoneman
      February 13, 2013

      Isn’t it lovely? If there’s a yarn to make me feel good about only being able to handle a basic stitch, it’s Noro. ❤

      Knitting and crocheting really confuse me. Near as I can tell, they both produce giant, stylish knots. I don't understand where the yarn goes and why. If you are competent at even one, you're a step ahead of me!

      • sparkleturkey
        February 14, 2013

        It is incredibly weird that you can construct an entire garment out of intentional yarn tangling. That always blows my mind if I think too much about it in a “whoah…duuuuuuude…” kind of way 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2013 by in Work in Progress and tagged , , , .
