Craft Camp Capers

A fine WordPress.com site

Totoro Ornaments

Totoro ornaments

My cousin’s awesome Totoro plushie totally inspired me to make my own, though I went with something much smaller and easier. And I’m not the only one. Another crafty cousin made his own Totoro, refining the original design. We’re just a Totoro-happy family.

backs of the Totoro ornaments

Except for when we’re not. While said Totoros were being stitched up at Thanksgiving, an aunt asked about the character we were so enthusiastic to make. The Internet was consulted and alarming images were revealed. Turns out one has to become acclimated to Totoro’s unusually large mouth from a young age in order to not find him scary. But I promise to anyone out there who still hasn’t seen My Neighbor Totoro, that he really is adorable and a friend to children.

Totoro ornaments

4 comments on “Totoro Ornaments

  1. ebmagpie
    February 17, 2013

    I have to say I stumbled across your blog through a different post and then saw your adorable little Totoros. My husband and I are huge Studio Ghibli fans, such that we had the theme from My Neighbor Totoro played on piano as the exit music at our wedding. Most of the guests didn’t recognize the song, but liked the happy tune. Very nice work, and I can’t wait to read more 🙂

    • dianastoneman
      February 17, 2013

      Totoro music at your wedding sounds adorable (and genki)! I’m so glad that you had a special and meaningful wedding that your guests were also able to appreciate. Not everyone can manage that. I’m also glad to meet other Ghibli fans, they make amazing stories and not enough people know about them. 😀

  2. ebmagpie
    February 17, 2013

    Studio Ghibli does tell some wonderful stories. We have several on dvd and commonly loan them out to our friends.

  3. Carrie Brixey
    September 14, 2013

    I love your mini Totoros! I, too, am a fan of both felt AND Miyazaki. Thanks for the inspiration (and complete and utter cute overload!!)!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 15, 2013 by in Completed Project and tagged , , , , .
