Craft Camp Capers

A fine WordPress.com site

Octopus and Seahorse Ornaments

octopus and seahorse ornaments

This octopus ornament practically designed itself. I had a vague idea of sequin suckers and it just flowed out of me. Originally I thought rainbow suckers would be cute but I didn’t have a subtle enough sequin palette to make it work. When I was cutting out the pattern I lay the tops of the octopus arms on felt to cut around them, resulting in the bottom being slightly larger than the top. This made the arms curl upwards adorably, quite the happy accident.

octopus ornament

The seahorse was a challenge from a seahorse-loving friend. It also came together easily but only because I designed it during a Craft Camp and could consult cousins. I’m slowly getting more comfortable designing 3D ornaments. They used to be really intimidating but now I’m starting to prefer them.

seahorse ornament seahorse ornament

3 comments on “Octopus and Seahorse Ornaments

  1. Peggy
    February 23, 2013

    So sweet! Delicate and charming in every way possible!

  2. Rin
    March 19, 2013

    Oh wow, okay that octopus is amazing, I LOVE the sequin suction cups!!!!

  3. Carrie Brixey
    September 14, 2013

    Beautiful work and detail!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 22, 2013 by in Completed Project and tagged , , , .
