Craft Camp Capers

A fine WordPress.com site

Poinsettia and Quail Ornaments

poinsettia and quail ornaments

My mother has never been to Craft Camp since it’s more associated with my husband’s family but she’s still a diligent crafter. Maybe even more diligent than me. She understands that I’m not very good at making something more than once. So when I designed these ornaments to give to a friend two years ago, she copied the patterns and made extra sets, including one for me. I’m so delighted to be able to hang these on my tree next year!

poinsettia ornament

When designing the poinsettia, I experimented with using contrasting colors in the stitching. To be fair, I cheated and just rifted on an analogous color scheme but I’m still pretty proud. The quail was an excuse to make one of those appealing head plumes. Originally I was going for a more reserved look but I’ve since decided Christmas ornaments need some sparkle to hold their own with the Christmas lights. If I were to redesign this ornament today, I’d probably put sequins on it.

quail ornament

2 comments on “Poinsettia and Quail Ornaments

  1. sparkleturkey
    March 9, 2013

    Oh, ALWAYS put sequins on it. If I have learned anything ever in my life…..

    • dianastoneman
      March 9, 2013

      Words to live by.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 8, 2013 by in Completed Project and tagged , , , , .
